Gmail Phishing Scam

Dec 11, 2012 | comments

Another phishing scam that relies on the old “account update” theme is currently making the rounds, attempting to trick Gmail users into handing over their usernames and passwords.

Gmail Phishing Scam
                                                                                          Image credits: Hoax Slayer
users who click on the links contained in the email are taken to a site that almost perfectly replicates the Gmail sign-in page.

Once they provide their usernames and passwords, victims are presented with a second phishing page on which they’re requested to enter their phone numbers, which are allegedly needed for verification purposes.

In the final part of the scheme, users are asked to provide an alternate email address.

Cybercriminals are leveraging the fact that it’s not difficult for internauts to click on a link and log in to their Gmail accounts. This is why it’s important for users to be suspicious of any notification that claims to come from Gmail, Facebook or any other popular website.

The message is not from Gmail and the claim that users will lose their accounts if they do not verify their information is a lie. The email is a phishing scam designed to steal login information for Gmail and other webmail accounts as well as trick victims into divulging their phone numbers to Internet criminals.
Share this article :

Post a Comment

I'm certainly not an expert, but I'll try my hardest to explain what I do know and research what I don't know. Be sure to check back again , after moderation i do make every effort to reply to your comments .

Copyright © 2011. INDIATRIKS - All Rights Reserved
Template Edited By Indiatriks
Proudly Powered By Blogger